Site hosted by Build your free website today!

About the I-75 Strat-O-Matic League: The founding fathers of the I-75 League are Gary Kicinski and Dave Renbarger, who schemed in the winter of 1979-80 to bring their mutual Strat fiend friends together in one venture.

Original charters were granted to Gary Kicinski (Applegate Paperclips), Dave Renbarger (Vlasic Pickles), Larry Pittman (Washington Senators), Steve Hart (Ansbach Angels), Joe Brunetti (Berlin Bullets), Mike Renbarger (Michigan Drifters), Ken Kuzdak (Detroit Drill Team), Steve Bizek (Bismarck Bombers) and Gerry Yurko (Mennen Speedsticks). The I-75 Mail League was born on March 16, 1980, when a telephone hookup between the offices of the Tampa Times and the Detroit residence of Ken Kuzdak allowed nine managers to draft 25-man squads.

After 23 successful seasons, the League implemented a fundamental shift in philosophy, expanding from 9 to 12 teams, and adopting a comprehensive player retention format to replace the longstanding tradition of annual redrafts. Thus with the onset of the 2003 season the League was reborn and renamed the I-75 Strat-O-Matic Email League, to signify both the departure from the previous era and the full embrace of computerized Strat.

The twelve original charters into the retention league were granted to Dave Renbarger (Bushwood Gophers), Steve Hart (Savannah Scorpions), Ken Kuzdak (Detroit Deacons), Mike Renbarger (Superior Titans), Steve Bizek (Bismarck Bombers), Phil Roselli (Littleton Lumberjacks), John McMillan (Margaritaville Volcanos), Mike Wilson (Hickory Nuts), Jamie Turner (Tropical Heat), Dave LaMont (Springfield Isotopes), Mark Chafetz (Clawson Clippers), and Marc Wasserman (Brooklyn Excelsiors).

In 2004, the Clippers departed, and Gary Kicinski, one of the I-75 founding managers, rejoined the League with his Applegate Paperclips. In 2005, the Excelsiors did not return, and the League welcomed Rick Lackey and Garth Lewis as co-managers of the South Grand Prairie Warriors. In 2007, the Lumberjacks departed, and Dan Wilson joined the League with his Wisconsin Warhawks. In 2011, the Heat departed, and Phil Roselli rejoined the League, morphing the Lumberjacks into the Chatfield Choo Choos.

In 2012, Charter Manager Ken Kuzdak bid the league farewell, and expansion to 15 teams took place, welcoming new managers Ken Crawford (Michigan Moneyballers), John Renbarger (Iowa Cyclones), Steve Nieroda (Satellite Beach Brawlers), and Rick Lackey (English Pigdogs).

In 2013, managers Mark and Keith Gergel joined the fold, taking over the Pigdogs franchise, and renaming it the Destin Beach Bums.

In 2016, managers Mike Wilson, Dan Wilson and Phil Roselli bowed out and were replaced by Jason Renbarger (New New York Hypnotoads), Ryan Renbarger (Dyersville Treblemakers) and Jeff Richards (West Atlanta Crush). In 2017, Ken Crawford bowed out and was replaced by Nick Calderon (Tatooine Rebels).

It is a note of pride that the current league boasts 5 of the 9 original I-75 Mail League charter members from 1980 and three second-generation managers. As the league marches through its fourth decade, the managers proudly rededicate themselves to the League mantra: The Foremost Strat-O-Matic Brains in the Country.